Guest: Scott Ostler of the SF Chronicle

Having a famed sportswriter like Scott Ostler visit our class offered tremendous insight on the life of someone who writes about sports for a living. And its basically living the dream.

Granted, there is obviously tons of work that goes into a job like that, but I got the sense that since Ostler has been  covering various sports his entire life, he is at a point where he just loves what he does. He seems very laid back about the whole process of sports journalism, and the fact that he notices the humor and comedic aspects of the games we all take far too seriously sometimes makes me appreciate his work even greater. I found some of his stories with various people absolutely hilarious, especially Don Nelson’s lewd comments connecting Andris Biedrins’ success to Nelson’s lack of it in college as well as Jack Nicholson’s Great Western Forum hiding place that Michael Douglas and Jimmy Buffett also had invitations to. And I had to smile when he told us of his encounter with Al Davis, who subsequently cursed him off. Good stuff.

While I hadn’t read Ostler’s articles before his visit, I feel like I am going to now.